Self-Reflection and some travel updates (i.e. Posh times in London..)

Reflection Point
I came back to NYC a few days ago but was unable to write as I was running around meeting people and hustling to get my Brazilian visa documents asap. It was nice to meet some good friends but I again remembered the personality tests we did at the beginning of the MBA and a discussion we had on introversion-extroversion. I referred back to my bible of worldly knowledge (Wikipedia) to find the following two notable points:
  • Extraverts often prefer more frequent interaction, while introverts prefer more substantial interaction.
  • Extraverts recharge and get their energy from spending time with people, while introverts recharge and get their energy from spending time alone.
I would place myself somewhere in between – a social introvert. I now need to recharge my batteries for a while after a week of non-stop socialization and catching up.  Heading over to Texas next week so it should be perfect for the purpose.
London Update
Yes – so London was as always fun. Met with old friends, visited familiar places, had some good food and almost started feeling like maybe I should have considered it for living post MBA. But slowly but surely as I was starting to remember that the Tube closes at 12:30am, cabs cost an arm and a leg, everything costs almost double, circle line never runs properly and everyone is on a strike all the time, I was pretty happy to leave and wait for my next visit there. I think it hit me the most when I was squashed with my luggage against a sweaty armpit on the Hammersmith line on the way to Paddington after having to miss 4 trains already, wishing that I don’t faint from lack of air and the heat of 40C or so which was exacerbated by the poor over-sweating bankers that were just trying to get home, thinking why can’t the government (whom they must be paying hundreds of thousands of pounds in taxes) install air-conditioning on the trains, a luxury available at far less advanced economies.
One of the most noteworthy things about the visit was Barbecoa – Jamie Oliver and Adam Perry Lang’s (?)  new restaurant. Surprisingly, for someone who is not a beef lover, I highly enjoyed their Dry-Aged Rump steak, with accompanying mashed potatoes (especially replacing the shallot infested aubergine for my onion-hating self). Those Brits finally learned how to make good food! The view was also spectacular as the restaurant had huge windows, overlooking St. Paul’s Cathedral. If you’re ever in London, this place is a great treat. Gordon Ramsey thinks so as well, I suppose. Because he is opening his own restaurant in the same building – can’t let Jamie have all the dough!
On the same day we also attempted clubbing at Cargo at Shorditch and realized we were old when the average age in the line (“queue” with an exaggerated “ue” ending) was around 21. Then the host came to ask us if we want to get in without a line through buying a GBP300 bottle service, even though there were maybe 5 people in line before us.
I also got to attend my second annual gay parade in Soho (of London), which was more subdued than the first one (no lesbians tried to hit on me this time around) but was fun nonetheless.
A run through Tate Modern was a must and I saw a funny installation by Chinese artist Ai Weiwei (sounds kind of like the Jewish “Oy Vay”..), called  “Sunflower Seeds”, which was basically a giant pile of very real looking sunflower seeds, actually made of porcelain. I think it was something about collectivism/individualism and how we all look the same but are actually are all unique.
3 thoughts on “Self-Reflection and some travel updates (i.e. Posh times in London..)

  1. Putting AC on the Tube is tough, because AC is basically a heat exchange system… If you take heat out of the train interiors, it has to be dumped in the train tunnels, which are already pretty hot due to rail-wheel friction. So you end up with sweltering station platforms and, in the tunnels of the deep-cut Tube lines (Central, Jubilee, Northern, etc.), temperatures that start causing equipment malfunction.

    New York’s actually really lucky, because all of its lines run in big, spacious cut-and-cover tunnels close to the surface, and it’s thus easy to vent all of the hot air to the street. Even then, remember how miserable NY station platforms get in the summer?

    I hope that you’re imagining this whole post in my voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

