Food for thought

The blog writing came under pressure lately, as my social life became more active. Facing too many opportunities for going out and meeting people, I struggled during the week with understanding the purpose of showing up to work. Thank god for the 1.5 hrs lunch culture and the abundance of caffeine around me. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have made it throughout the week.

As a dedicated cultural anthropologist,  I made expeditions to dance Forro on Wednesday (died at work on Thursday) and samba on Friday. I also ate lots and lots of cheese (and bread), and worked on increasing the size of my behind. As a typical carioca, I made my way towards the beach, this Saturday morning (long walk of 3 blocks from my house), rented a chair and umbrella, and sat in the shade (got to protect my white self) to observe the locals in action. I realized that no where in this world I saw a beach so full of vendors selling anything and everything, right there and then. One was selling hats, another beachwear, a third acai juice, a fourth Lebanese pastries, a fifth fruit mousse(!!), and the list goes on and on. They were so so loud that I decided to bring ear plugs next time I go. The most important observation that I made was, that the size of the woman’s bikini is inversely related to her BMI. This of course implies that as I continue eating pão de queijo (cheese bread), I have to start shopping for new bathing suits, to be able to fit in on the beach. I think my current one is probably viewed as a tent by local Brazilian girls.

That’s all folks. Time to drink some chopp (tap beer in Portuguese, and one of the three most important pillars of being carioca).

One thought on “Food for thought

Leave a Reply

