The Royal Getaway

This weekend I visited Petropolis, located about an hour away from Rio. I was expecting a small and quaint town, but looks like progress is far-reaching. Petropolis was quite big and commercial. It does have some of its old charm remaining.
I visited the Imperial Palace and bored by decaying relics, spent my afternoon chilling in the super-cute adjacent cafe.
I also walked along the canals and discovered a beautiful church and then the Crystal Palace, which is supposed to be hosting a major German celebration at the end of this month. Brazilian Germans partying it up.. I want to see that!

One thought on “The Royal Getaway

Leave a Reply

