Guanabara Palace

After one year of living in Rio, I finally decided to relieve my curiosity and find out what lies at the end of beautiful palm lined Paissandu street, located just about 10 minutes walk from my house.

It is how I discovered Guanabara Palace, a neo-classical style building that used to host the emperor, then some of the former brazilian presidents such as Getulio Varges and is now the headquarters of the state government.

Behind the building there is a beautifully manicured garden, which made me feel almost as if I were back to Europe. If only the Neptune fountain had some water in it..

It was the perfect place to spend a melancholic afternoon of reflection. I then took a city bus to cheer myself up (huge adrenaline rush) and of course ended up getting off at the wrong stop. The good news is that I didn’t end up in any favela or anything and was able to navigate my way to my final destination. Progress.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

