What has brought me to San Francisco?

IMG_6365

On my flight to San Francisco, I was reading Isabel Allende’s novel, Daughter of Fortune. It started in Valparaiso, Chile and finished in San Francisco, at the time it was starting to form during the California gold rush days. I didn’t know what the book was about when I started reading it so the coincidence was a strange,  but not entirely uncommon. Funny how these things happen.

The gold is long gone but I did come to the Golden Gate city in search of an adventure.

It all started when one day I got an SMS (apparently people still use this outdated technology) from a Business School mate:” Stuck in Dallas due to snow storm, thinking of coming to Austin and flying from there, are you around?”. Luckily, I was indeed in Austin and of course, I invited him to stay with us, looking forward to catching up. We were just moving to a new house, so it was great to recruit an extra body to help us carry everything. Plus, I was kind of curious to learn more about the Russia – Ukraine conflict (NPR is kind of useless on this topic) from someone who had many contacts in the region.

Well, one thing led to another, and once I found out about some of the challenges my mate’s San Francisco-based tech start-up was working on, I couldn’t let go of my fixer-upper nature and offered my help with solving them. We talked this through in the following weeks and Voila! It was decided that I will relocate for a couple of months to help on some projects.

Some of the other deep considerations that went into this decision:

1. I couldn’t do yoga anymore due to some orthopedic issues with my neck, so I had now much more free time on my schedule

2. My next trip was not planned at least until May

3. I never lived in San Francisco but on my visits there it seemed that it had way cooler coffee shops than Austin so I really wanted to explore all of them

4. I figured that San Francisco will be kind of a nice weather place to be in. I now know that cold is relative and my tolerance quickly adjusts to feel cold anywhere where it’s not extremely hot.  I am really not sure why I thought that my San Francisco wardrobe should consist of light summer dresses. Maybe I was thinking about LA? Mom – please bring sweaters and boots when you visit.

5. I wanted to catch up with my bay area peeps because I never get to see them unless we bump into each other in class reunions or breakfasts in Rio de Janeiro (you know who you are).

6. I wanted a break from driving. Whatever you say San Franciscans, complicated public transportation is better than no public transportation!

7. Fake consideration to be used in professional settings with people I am trying to impress with my super powerful business woman persona: Having worked in more traditional industries, I wanted to benefit from the Bay area’s abundant innovative/hi-tech resources plus the lean start-up operational experience in order to apply those lessons in my future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

